Reflection in the Education Pool – Part I

Teaching is a difficult job. Anybody that tells you otherwise has clearly never had the privilege of working in education. The changing landscape of accountability through standardized testing, unfortunately, has made education and teachers the butt of many jokes and the focal point of politicians looking to make their mark.

In this time of uncertainty it is important for teachers to be actively involved in their own professional development. Fortunately, there is an enormous amount of material available. The most common complaints that I hear about PD are that it is unfocused and time-consuming. The task of finding worthwhile articles to read is daunting, especially in light of all of the other responsibilities that teachers have on their plates.

My goal with this post, and future entries, is to weed out whats available and find resources that will develop and stimulate conversation. For that to work, however, I need feedback. My intention is to keep my posts short and to the point to maximize the amount of time available for learning. Future posts will take the following format:

  • Introduction of the resource
  • Resource link
  • Summary/conversation questions

With that being said, let me get to it…

The link below is to a 5-minute YouTube video about the impact of technology in our society and the way that it has accelerated the development of our species.

What are your initial impressions?

What does this mean for education?

6 Comments

Filed under education

6 responses to “Reflection in the Education Pool – Part I

  1. Galvin

    I think it is crazy how many times that I’ve watched a that video in two years, and in that time how often it has been updated. How long until the video you posted is outdated??

    • Danna,
      You are completely right. The scary thing is, I think it might already be outdated. Technology has certainly sped up the development process. It makes you wonder if there is a “breaking point” doesn’t it?

  2. Sandy

    We need to find a way to teach transferable skills that will fit anything that happens in the future. For sure we need to update our technology use big time

    • Sandy,
      I agree completely. I believe that it is not the material that we teach them that is important, but it is the learning process that we develop. We need students to be self-driven learners with critical thinking and problem solving skills. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Laura McDonell

    Excellent video! I have not seen it before, and it really puts things into perspective. I like Sandy’s comment in that we need to find a way to teach transferable skills. It is tough sometimes for me to step out of my comfort zone with lessons I have prepared and do somthing new with technology that I am not truly comfortable with! It makes such a difference. On another note, but yet the same topic, I looked at a few of your thoughts on the flipped classroom Chris- and want to hear more!

    • Laura,
      I think you have absolutely hit the nail on the head in saying that is tough stepping outside of your comfort zone and trying something new. The unknown is quite scary, especially when you consider that your students will likely pick up the technology faster than you will. The desire to experiment though can be beneficial to you and your students though. You brought up my thoughts on the flipped classroom and let me just tell you that I have never taken anything on with my career quite as scary as that. I really enjoyed the process though, and working the same material in a different way. Not only was it fun for my students, but it was challenging for me. I would love to talk with you more about it. In the meantime, if you are curious about how to start thinking about the flipped idea, I made a website that can answer some of your questions. http://sites.google.com/site/mingflippedclassroom

Leave a Reply

