Tech Shortcuts

If you have been reading my weekly entries, you have probably noticed a theme of technology and change. My reason for talking about these two topics each week is two-fold. The first part of my reason is that I am a techno-geek myself and enjoying finding new ways to use the latest technology in my everyday life. The second part of my reason is that technology is coming to education whether we want it to or not. In my opinion it is much easier to get small doses of technology over time than it is to be thrown into the deep-end of the pool surrounded by it. I like to think of this blog as a means of vaccinating teachers to educational technology; small doses over time to avoid widespread disease.

With that being said, I am always on the lookout for new and neat ways of doing things with an eye always focused on efficiency. Keeping that “e” word in the back of my head, I stumbled upon a TED talk that astounded me in its simplicity, yet still taught me a couple of things.

Of the ten tech tips, not all of them were new to me, but half of them were. It got me thinking about all of the small tidbits of information that are out there and how we can all learn a little bit from each other. I think this is the hidden idea about integrating technology into our instruction. Despite all of the increased focus and attention on using computers for instruction, the key point to keep in mind is that we all have knowledge that can and should be shared. Technology, through the use of webpages, blogs, wikis, etc., has the capability of pooling that large knowledge base together and enhancing all of our abilities. One of the challenges of the future in education will be integrating technology in a way that harnesses the benefits and minimizes the detrimental effects.

Discussion Questions:

  1. What did you learn from the video?
  2. What types of information do you desire to feel more competent with using technology in your instruction?
  3. What steps can you take now to prepare yourself for the “educational technology epidemic”?
1 Comment

Filed under education

One response to “Tech Shortcuts

  1. Danna

    My life is complete.

Leave a Reply

