2017 – A #PureMichigan Summer

Tomorrow, I go back to work in preparation for the 2017-2018 school year and I can not be more excited about my new position and the challenges to be faced as a Middle School Principal. I am refreshed and ready to go thanks to a truly magnificent summer of travel full of beautiful sites and experiences. Here’s the kicker, I never even left the State! Last year, I took my family on an amazing 5-day cruise to the Caribbean and we had a great time, but I can honestly say that I am more relaxed and mentally prepared for the rigor of a new school year after experiencing a #PureMichigan summer.

This is the first summer in the last 17 years that I have not traveled out-of-state or abroad (I’m not counting my temporary foray into Canadian waters). Cue Tim Allen, Jeff Daniels and those wonderfully corny Pure Michigan commercials because I am about to wax poetic on how great this place is. Knowing that I needed to refresh my energy reservoir on a limited budget, I set a goal of getting in as many mini-cations, covering as much of the Michigan greatness as possible. The Google Map below details my travels across the State (and especially on the I-69 and I-75 corridors). I swam in two Great Lakes (Huron and Michigan), golfed Garland, Treetops, and Lakewood Shores, cruised an inland lake, and sailed a Great Lake. I slept in a resort, a camper, a tent, and a sailboat. I spent time with family, friends, and (just a little bit) by myself. I engaged my body, mind, and soul with the wonders of this State.


Just yesterday I read a blog post on “Professional Creep,” written by Megan M. Allen, a teacher acknowledging how being an educator tends to take over your life, hobbies, and habits and it inspired me to write this post in reflection of the work-life balance. Educators care about what they do and being a principal or a teacher is not simply a job, but rather it is a defining characteristic of our lives. I am 100% guilty of work creeping into every aspect of my life, but for the first time in 12 years, I feel like I may have attained that mythical balance between work and life.

I attended an education conference this summer, but I brought my family and we got out and enjoyed the beach and downtown environs of Traverse City.

I took a class for my job this summer, but I also read several novels.

I went backpacking in the Huron-Manistee National Forest, but I read The Innovator’s Mindset by George Couros as I sat around the campfire.

Work-Life Balance…check (for now). Thank you #PureMichigan for getting this educator geared up for a great school year!

File_000

1 Comment

Filed under #masspchat, #miched, education

One response to “2017 – A #PureMichigan Summer

  1. Pingback: 17-18 Goals and Game Plan | Reflections in the Education Pool

Leave a Reply

